agencies of the federal government, regional governments and other private and institutional bodies on design-related issues.

Council-sponsored activities include awards for design excellence, scholarships, publications, exhibits and design management seminars; all intended toward the promotion of product design in Canadian industry. Design Canada (industry, trade and commerce), serves as the administrative and program implementation arm of the council. The council has 17 members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and reports through its chairman to the minister of industry, trade and commerce.

National Emergency Planning Establishment (Emergency Planning Canada). In April 1974, Canada Emergency Measures Organization (EMO), the federal co-ordinating agency for civil emergency planning, became the National Emergency Planning Establishment, commonly known since 1975 as Emergency Planning Canada (EPC). EMO was originally created to initiate and co-ordinate the civil aspects of defence policy delegated to federal departments and agencies to meet the threat of nuclear war.

Emergency Planning Canada has an extended role to co-ordinate and assist planning to ensure that the federal government is ready to meet the effects of natural or man-made disasters. Such planning is part of the normal responsibilities of federal government departments, Crown corporations and agencies. An EPC regional director in each provincial capital maintains contact with other federal departments and with provincial and municipal governments.

EPC promotes emergency preparedness of the federal government and encourages other levels of government to plan by providing grants for approved emergency planning projects; making arrangements for federal assistance to provinces to offset costs resulting from emergencies; sponsoring courses for representatives from the public and private sectors; and conducting an information and research program.

Civil emergency preparedness extends beyond the borders of Canada to nations abroad, including the US and NATO countries. The director general of Emergency Planning Canada represents Canada on the senior civil emergency planning committee and is chairman of the civil defence committee. Although attached for purposes of administration to the defence department, the agency receives functional direction from the Privy Council office.

National Energy Board. This board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 (RSC 1970, c.N-6) to assure the best use of energy resources in Canada. The board, composed of nine members, is responsible for regulating construction and operation of oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of Parliament, tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, export and import of gas and oil, export of electric power, and construction of lines over which power is exported or imported. Under the Petroleum Administration Act, 1975, the board administers the export charge on crude oil and certain refined petroleum products and administers, on behalf of the minister of energy, mines and resources, the pricing of natural gas entering interprovincial and international trade.

The board is required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of Parliament and to recommend measures it considers necessary and advisable. It reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

National Farm Products Marketing Council. Established in 1972 under the Farm Products Marketing Agencies Act (SC 1972, c.65), the council consults with producers, commodity boards, processors, consumer groups, and provincial and federal governments, and co-ordinates their views on the establishment and operation of national marketing agencies. It assists and supervises the operations of agencies and promotes more effective marketing of farm products in interprovincial and export trade. The goal is to maintain and promote an efficient, competitive and expanding agricultural industry, and to have due regard for the interests of those affected by the operations of national agencies. Three such agencies are in operation — the Canadian egg marketing agency, the Canadian turkey marketing agency and the Canadian chicken marketing agency.

The council consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman, and six other members appointed by the Governorin-Council and is directly responsible to the minister of agriculture. Council headquarters is in Ottawa.

National Film Board. The board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1970, c.N-7) which provides for a board of governors of nine members: a government film commissioner, appointed by the Governor-in-Council, who is chairman of the board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The board reports to Parliament through the secretary of state. It is responsible for advising the Governor-in-Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations. The board is responsible for co-ordinating all film and audio-visual production required by government departments, producing the material itself or tendering contracts to Canadian companies in the private sector. Its head office is in Ottawa and its operational headquarters is in Montreal.

National Harbours Board (Harbours Board Canada). The board was established by an act of Parliament in 1936 (RSC 1970, c.N-8). It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of St.